ReListen Podcast
ReListen - Music Reviews
#003 melodic blue - baby keem | album review
0:00
-29:34

#003 melodic blue - baby keem | album review

WhenDidYouMakeThis?

The Melodic Blue_Final.wav

(originally published 10 may 2022)

-the below show notes are ai generated from the full transcript available here, might contain obvious (or not so obvious) errors-

enjoy

subscribe to get show notes straight to your email whenever there’s a new episode.

#003 melodic blue - baby keem | album review | show notes

Introduction (00:00:05): Hi, welcome back to another episode. On this episode, I'll be reviewing Baby Keem's album "The Melodic Blue." It came out in September 2021. When it first came out, I didn't really show it much love. I only listened to one song, the single with Kendrick Lamar, "Family Ties," as I was more focused on Kendrick Lamar's anticipated drop.

Overview (00:00:38): I decided to revisit the album earlier this year, and it sounds better than I expected. Initially, I only gave it a brief listen because I was expecting Kendrick Lamar to drop. Now, I'm going to go through the album again, review all the songs, share my favorite and least favorite tracks, and rate it out of 10.

Album Background (00:01:10): I haven't listened to much Baby Keem before this album, except for his feature on Kanye's "Praise God" from "Donda." This album gave me a better understanding of his music style.

Song Reviews

Trademark USA (00:01:49): One of my favorite songs and a great opener. The beat is amazing and the energy is consistent. The production is top-notch, and Baby Keem's style is refreshing. It's not the generic style we're used to, and it has some influence from Kendrick Lamar.

Pink Panties (00:03:59): This song has an African-like medieval vibe in the core of the beats. Baby Keem changes his style in every song, not limiting himself to one genre. It's a unique and refreshing track.

Scapegoats (00:04:45): Baby Keem doesn't say much in this song, mostly talking about girls and money. The highlight is the ending, where a lady talks about wanting to go inside his mind, giving it an interlude feel.

Range Brothers (feat. Kendrick Lamar) (00:05:11): One of my favorite songs on the album. Baby Keem and Kendrick Lamar have great chemistry and their flows are very compatible. It's rare to see Kendrick Lamar on two songs on the same album, but their relationship made it possible. Baby Keem's energy and Kendrick Lamar's lyrical depth make it a standout track.

Issues (00:08:00): This song starts with Baby Keem reflecting on his life and memories. It's a more emotional track, asking if everyone is made equal and facing demons. It's a good song but not my favorite.

Gorgeous (00:08:49): One of my favorite songs on the album, though it has the lowest streams. The beats and chorus are very good, and it has a melodic vibe that stands out.

South Africa (00:09:39): A catchy song with repetitive lyrics. It’s a melodic performance that showcases Baby Keem’s style.

Lost Souls (00:10:12): This song has two versions. I prefer the version without the feature, as the feature ruins it for me. Baby Keem talks about how many girls around him are lost souls, despite looking fine on the outside.

First Order of Business (00:13:14): A more fast-paced song where Baby Keem talks about his success and how he's grateful for it. It's a good track with catchy lyrics.

Vent (00:25:01): I didn't expect a feature on this song, but Kendrick Lamar appears again. It's a high-energy track with a lot of impact.

16 (00:27:15): The final song on the album, giving reflective vibes. Baby Keem talks about not telling anyone about your tragedy and drowning your pain in expensive fabrics. It's a fitting end to the album.

Conclusion (00:27:50): "The Melodic Blue" is a very good album. It may not have much lyrical content, but it's all about the melody and how it makes you feel. I'd rate it an 8 out of 10. Baby Keem has shown his potential, and I'm excited to see what he does next. If you enjoyed this episode, subscribe to get a notification when the next one drops. Thank you for listening.

WhenDidYouMakeThis?

Discussion about this podcast