ReListen Podcast
ReListen - Music Reviews
#008 a gift & a curse - gunna | album review
0:00
-5:01

#008 a gift & a curse - gunna | album review

WhenDidYouMakeThis?

-the below show notes are ai generated from the full transcript available here, and might contain obvious (or not so obvious) errors-

enjoy

subscribe to get show notes straight to your email whenever there’s a new episode.

#008 a gift & a curse - gunna | album review | show notes

Introduction (00:00:00): Welcome back to Relisten. On this episode, I'll be reviewing Gunna's album. He just released it, and this will not be a short review. He released it on the 16th of June. Going into the album, I didn't really expect too much from it, to be honest.

Album Background (00:00:20): I didn't really care about all the street stuff. I enjoy listening to it, but that's not the kind of life I can relate to. I don't really care about who snitched and who didn't. The hypocrisy in the rap world is fascinating, but the album itself was alright. The single "Back At It" that dropped before the album was very good.

Overview (00:01:06): Overall, the album is simple. Gunna's just rapping—no fancy beats. He has been blackballed somehow. I don't think Gunna even needed to drop this album. He could have just gone back to rapping about his usual themes. This isn't an album I'd listen to for street credibility; for that, I'd turn to 21 Savage or Young Thug. But it's his work, and he chose to release it, and it's far from bad—it's a very good album.

Discussion (00:02:10): Most people judging Gunna or calling him a snitch wouldn't stay in prison for someone else if they were innocent. They'd choose freedom. Expecting someone to stay in prison just to maintain street cred is weird.

Favorite Songs (00:03:08): My favorite songs on the album are "Cash It," "Back At It," and "Back to the Moon." There's hardly any skip on this album. He dropped a very solid album.

Rating (00:03:24): If I were to rate it, I'd give it a 7 out of 10. It's a very good album. Honestly, maybe it's not that bad. Giving it a 7 or rating it so low isn't fair; his peak is just so much more than this album. It's somewhat biased, but 7 is what I'm giving it.

Closing Thoughts (00:04:11): Gunna himself missed his music. Now we don't know when we'll get any new Young Thug music because he's not free. It's frustrating. I'll be reviewing another album next.

Conclusion (00:04:39): If you're listening on Apple Music, Spotify, or YouTube, please like, subscribe, and check the social description. Thanks!

WhenDidYouMakeThis?

Discussion about this podcast

ReListen Podcast
ReListen - Music Reviews
I give my thoughts on some music.